x

NEWS

Visualization for Awakening: Tergar Announces Online Teaching with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche. Image courtesy of Tergar International

The Tergar Meditation Community, founded by the respected Dharma teacher and master of the Karma Kagyu and Nyingma lineages of Tibetan Buddhism Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, has announced a special online teaching with Rinpoche on 23 July under the theme “The Power of Visualization for Awakening: The Heart of Tantra with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche.”

“We have another exciting free talk with Rinpoche coming soon in July: it’s dedicated to the power of imagination and is a starting point of this year’s transmission, Tergar International shared with BDG. “At the heart of this year’s transmission and the Vajrayana tradition is pure perception—to see ourselves, others, and the world around us as innately perfect. In order to do this, we practice what are known as the development and completion stages, through which we come to gain certainty in our buddha-nature—that we are enlightened from the very start.”

Open to all practitioners, Rinpoche’s talk will provide an overview of the Vajrayana approach, an examination of the imagination as a method for the Buddhist path to awakening, and an opportunity to deepen one’s meditative experience.

In its announcement for the event, Tergar International shared:

Do you wonder how to harness the power of the imagination in your spiritual life? In the Vajrayana Buddhist path, it is said that our true nature is fundamentally pure, and the path is a process of recognizing this truth. During this webinar, Mingyur Rinpoche will introduce practices of the imagination that can help us unlock our fundamental goodness.

“The Power of Visualization for Awakening: The Heart of Tantra with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche” will take place at the following times:

Auckland: 2am, Sunday 24 July
Canberra: 12am, Sunday 24 July
Seoul, Tokyo: 11pm, Saturday 23 July
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10pm, Saturday 23 July
Bangkok, Jakarta: 9pm, Saturday 23 July
New Delhi: 7:30pm, Saturday 23 July
Moscow: 5pm, Saturday 23 July
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 4pm, Saturday 23 July
London: 3pm, Saturday 23 July
Montreal, New York: 10am, Saturday 23 July
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 7am, Saturday 23 July

For more details and to register for this free talk with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, click here

Imagine cutting the invisible strings that so painfully bind us: what would that be like? Imagine the freedoms that come from the ability to enjoy things without having to acquire them, own them, possess them. — Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche

Mingyur Rinpoche, the founder of the Tergar Meditation Community, which has centers and practice groups across the world, is a renowned teacher and a best-selling author whose books include The Joy of Living: Unlocking the Secret and Science of Happiness (2007), Joyful Wisdom: Embracing Change and Finding Freedom (2009), and Turning Confusion into Clarity: A Guide to the Foundation Practices of Tibetan Buddhism (2014).

Born in 1975 in the Himalayan border region between Tibet and Nepal, Mingyur Rinpoche received extensive training in Tibetan Buddhist meditative and philosophical traditions from his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche (1920–96), considered one of the greatest modern Dzogchen masters, and subsequently at Sherab Ling Monastery in northern India. After just two years, at the age of 13, Mingyur Rinpoche entered a three-year meditation retreat and then completed a second immediately afterward, serving as retreat master. At 23, Rinpoche received full monastic ordination.

Mingyur Rinpoche famously undertook a four-year solitary wandering retreat through the Himalaya from 2011–15. In recounting how he came to terms with the realities of his ambition to practice in the manner of a wandering yogi, Rinpoche revealed that he confronted many personal and spiritual challenges—including, at one point, his own mortality. Rinpoche has described the years he spent wandering in the Himalaya as “one of the best periods of my life.”*

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Returns from Four-year Wilderness Retreat (BDG) and Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Releases Video Offering Insights Following His Retreat (BDG)

See more

The Power of Visualization for Awakening (Tergar)
The Heart of Tantra: The Development and Completion Stages of Vajrayana Buddhism (Tergar)
Tergar
Tergar Asia

Related news reports from BDG

Mind of a Bodhisattva: Tergar Announces Online Retreat with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Tergar Meditation Community to Host “Essence of the Bodhisattva Path” Webinar with Tai Situ Rinpoche
Mingyur Rinpoche to Lead Online Saga Dawa Celebration
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche’s Tergar Community Offers Dzogchen Immersion Study Online
Tergar Meditation Community to Offer Webinar on “Awakening Wisdom through Analysis”
Tergar Meditation Community Offers Online Buddhist Guidance for Uncertain Times
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Offers Guidance on Racial Unrest in America

Related features from BDG

The Good News of Suffering: Four Questions on the Four Noble Truths with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Living with Awareness, Practicing with Intent: An Interview with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Exclusive Interview: Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche on Living Life with Balance and Awareness

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments