Search
Close this search box.
Previous slide
Next slide

NEWS

Online Dharma: Tergar Announces Live Teaching with Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche: “Mahamudra: Turning Obstacles into Opportunities”

Image courtesy of Tergar International

The Tergar Meditation Community, founded by the revered Dharma teacher and master of the Karma Kagyu and Nyingma lineages of Tibetan Buddhism Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, has announced that the celebrated Tibetan tulku and meditation master Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche will give a live teaching on 19 May on the theme “Mahamudra: Turning Obstacles into Opportunities.”

“The path of Mahamudra is a profound way of turning obstacles into opportunities” Tergar explained in an announcement shared with BDG. “As Mahamudra practitioners, we begin to see that the antidote or solution to our obstacles is to be found within the obstacles themselves—nowhere else. This leads to a profound sense of openness and confidence in our capacity to remain unperturbed in the face of life’s challenges. In this event, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche will share how obstacles in life and on the meditator’s journey can become opportunities to awaken and how the freedom we are looking for is already present within our own hearts and minds.”

The event will feature a live teaching by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche, including a Q&A session, that will encompass practicing Mahamudra as a path to finding freedom within, how our obstacles represent opportunities for awakening, and how to deepen our own meditation practice.

“Are you interested in finding a long-term solution to obstacles in your life? Do you long to find freedom within your own heart and mind? If so, we welcome you to join us in this teaching by the revered lineage holder Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche,” Tergar noted. (Tergar)

“Mahamudra: Revealing Our True Nature,” will be conducted in English, with translations into Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish, and live-streamed at the following times:

Auckland: 5am, Monday, 20 May
Canberra: 3am, Monday, 20 May
Seoul, Tokyo: 2am, Monday, 20 May
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 1am, Monday, 20 May
Bangkok, Jakarta: 12am, Monday, 20 May
New Delhi: 10:30pm, Sunday, 19 May
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 7pm, Sunday, 19 May
London: 6pm, Sunday, 19 May
Montreal, New York: 1pm, Sunday, 19 May
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 10am, Sunday, 19 May

Click here for full details and to register

Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche. From dpr.info

Born Karma Sungrap Ngedon Tenpa Gyaltsen in 1965 at Rumtek Monastery in Sikkim, northeastern India, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche is the seventh Dzogchen Ponlop and an abbot of Dzogchen Monastery in what is now Garzê Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture in China’s Sichuan Province. A senior tulku in the Nyingma lineage of Vajrayana Buddhism and an accomplished Karma Kagyu lineage holder, he has earned renown as a Dharma teacher, a Tibetan Buddhist scholar, and a meditation master.

Rinpoche is the founder and spiritual director of Nalandabodhi, an international community of Buddhist centers, and the founder of the Nitartha Institute for Higher Buddhist Studies. He is known as a poet, calligrapher, visual artist, and the author of several books, including Emotional Rescue (2017 Penguin Publishing) and Rebel Buddha: A Guide to a Revolution of Mind (2011 Shambhala).

The nature of mind is free, yet we are binding it every minute. That is the problem: we want it to be free, but we won’t let it be free. — Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

See more

Mahamudra: Turning Obstacles into Opportunities (Tergar)
Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

Related news reports from BDG

Online Dharma: Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche to Lead “The Union of Mahamudra and Dzogchen” Retreat
Online Dharma: Tergar Meditation Community Announces Live Teaching with Jetsun Khandro Rinpoche on “Mahamudra: Revealing Our True Nature”
Buddhist Studies: Dr. Oren Hanner to Give Online Talk on Buddhist Ethics and Shared Agency
Tibetan Nuns Project Announces Appeal for More Textbooks for Buddhist Nuns
Online Dharma: Tergar Meditation Community Announces “Living, Dying, and Beyond” Retreat with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments