Search
Close this search box.
Previous slide
Next slide

NEWS

Online Dharma: Tergar Meditation Community to Host an Introduction to the Mahamudra Path

Image courtesy of Tergar International

The Tergar Meditation Community, founded by the respected Dharma teacher and master of the Karma Kagyu and Nyingma lineages of Tibetan Buddhism Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, will host an online Dharma event titled “Introduction to the Mahamudra Path: Tergar’s Buddhist Practices with Tergar Guides” on 15 April.

Intended for anyone who feels drawn to practice Buddhism, but may not know where to begin, and for those who wish to gain a greater understanding of the Mahamudra tradition, the online webinar is aimed explaining Tergar’s Path of Liberation as a first step for those interested in taking this path. 

“Mahamudra is known as a swift path to enlightenment, with powerful methods to  help us recognize the true nature of our minds. Traditionally, one sets out on this path with what are known as ngondro or ‘foundational practices.’ Tergar’s Path of Liberation program uses the foundational practices as a container while emphasizing the nature of mind practices,” Tergar said in an announcement shared with BDG. 

“This webinar is an introduction and overview of these practices and Tergar’s two Path of Liberation tracks: ngondro and Nectar of the Path—a practice composed by Mingyur Rinpoche himself for the Tergar Community,” Tergar said.

This teaching is open to all, with translations from English into Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish, and will be live-streamed at the following times:

Auckland: 2am, Sunday, 16 April
Canberra: 12am, Sunday, 16 April
Seoul, Tokyo: 11pm, Saturday, 15 April
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10pm, Saturday, 15 April
Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta: 9pm, Saturday, 15 April
India Standard Time: 7:30pm, Saturday, 15 April
Central European Summer Time: 4pm, Saturday, 15 April
Western European Summer Time/GMT: 3pm, Saturday, 15 April
Eastern Daylight Time: 10am, Saturday, 15 April
Pacific Daylight Time: 7am, Saturday, 15 April

Click here to register for this event

All phenomena of cyclic existence or transcendence,
Included within both appearance and mind,
Have no reality whatsoever and (therefore)
Arise in any way whatsoever.

(Jamgön Kongtrul Lodro Thaye)
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche. From tergar.org

Mingyur Rinpoche, the founder of the Tergar Meditation Community, which has centers and practice groups across the world, is a renowned teacher and best-selling author whose books include The Joy of Living: Unlocking the Secret and Science of Happiness (2007), Joyful Wisdom: Embracing Change and Finding Freedom (2009), and Turning Confusion into Clarity: A Guide to the Foundation Practices of Tibetan Buddhism (2014).

Born in 1975 in the Himalayan border region between Tibet and Nepal, Mingyur Rinpoche received extensive training in Tibetan Buddhist meditative and philosophical traditions from his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche (1920–96), considered one of the greatest modern Dzogchen masters, and subsequently at Sherab Ling Monastery in northern India. After just two years, at the age of 13, Mingyur Rinpoche entered a three-year meditation retreat and then completed a second immediately afterward, serving as retreat master. At 23, Rinpoche received full monastic ordination.

Mingyur Rinpoche famously undertook a four-year solitary wandering retreat through the Himalaya from 2011–15. In recounting how he came to terms with the realities of his ambition to practice in the manner of a wandering yogi, Rinpoche revealed that he confronted many personal and spiritual challenges—including, at one point, his own mortality. Rinpoche has described the years he spent wandering in the Himalaya as “one of the best periods of my life.”*

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Returns from Four-year Wilderness Retreat (BDG) and Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Releases Video Offering Insights Following His Retreat (BDG)

See more

Tergar
Tergar Asia
Introduction to the Mahamudra Path (Tergar)

Related news reports from BDG

The Heart of the Vajrayana: Tergar Meditation Community Announces Online Teaching with Tai Situ Rinpoche
The Heart of Tantra: Tergar Announces Online Immersion Course with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Visualization for Awakening: Tergar Announces Online Teaching with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Mind of a Bodhisattva: Tergar Announces Online Retreat with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Tergar Meditation Community to Host “Essence of the Bodhisattva Path” Webinar with Tai Situ Rinpoche
Mingyur Rinpoche to Lead Online Saga Dawa Celebration
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche’s Tergar Community Offers Dzogchen Immersion Study Online
Tergar Meditation Community to Offer Webinar on “Awakening Wisdom through Analysis”
Tergar Meditation Community Offers Online Buddhist Guidance for Uncertain Times
Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche Offers Guidance on Racial Unrest in America

Related features from BDG

The Good News of Suffering: Four Questions on the Four Noble Truths with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Living with Awareness, Practicing with Intent: An Interview with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche
Exclusive Interview: Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche on Living Life with Balance and Awareness

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments