x

NEWS

Online Dharma: The Heart Sutra with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche and Jet Li

Image courtesy of Siddhartas Intent Singapore

Following in the wake of the publication earlier this year of a new English-language translation of The Perfection of Wisdom by the non-profit initiative 84000: Translating the Words of the Buddha,* the revered Bhutanese lama, filmmaker, and author Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche is to give an online public teaching on the Heart Sutra on 24 September. This event, live-streamed from Singapore, will continue on 25 September, when Rinpoche will hold a conversation on the continued relevance of this sacred text with renowned movie star and martial artist Jet Li. 

“In June, our Founding Chair Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche offered a beautiful introduction to the sutra,” 84000 said in an announcement shared with BDG. “And we are now thrilled to share that Rinpoche will be joined in conversation with legendary actor Jet Li as they discuss The Heart Sutra’s legacy and how it resonates today.”

The Dharma teaching and meditation will be led by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on 24 September in three sessions (all Singapore times):

Session 1: 10am–12pm
Session 2: 2pm–4pm
Session 3: 5pm–7pm 

Click here for live-stream links

On 25 September, Rinpoche will be joined by Jet Li for a discussion on the Heart Sutra at 9.30am–11.30am (Singapore time).

Click here for live-stream links

Image courtesy of 84000

“This live conversation kicks off a wonderfully creative festival in Singapore celebrating the Heart Sutra and the myriad ways in which one can engage with and experience its profound wisdom,” said 84000.

Both events will be conducted in English, with consecutive translation into Mandarin. 

The Heart Sutra teaching will begin on 24 September at the following times:

Auckland: 2pm, Saturday, 24 September
Canberra: 12pm, Saturday, 24 September
Seoul, Tokyo: 11am, Saturday, 24 September
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10am, Saturday, 24 September
Bangkok, Jakarta: 9am, Saturday, 24 September
Kathmandu: 7:45am, Saturday, 24 September
New Delhi
: 7:30am, Saturday, 24 September
Moscow: 5am, Saturday, 24 September
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 4am, Saturday, 24 September
London: 3am, Saturday, 24 September
Montreal, New York: 10pm, Friday, 23 September
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 7pm, Friday, 23 September

Born in Bhutan in 1961, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche is the son of Thinley Norbu Rinpoche and was a close student of the Nyingma master Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (1910–91). He is recognized as the third incarnation of the 19th century Tibetan terton Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo (1820–1892), founder of the Khyentse lineage, and the immediate incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö (1893–1959). 

Rinpoche’s projects include Siddhartha’s Intent, an international collective of Buddhist groups supporting Rinpoche’s Buddhadharma activities by organizing teachings and retreats, distributing and archiving recorded teachings, and transcribing, editing, and translating manuscripts and practice texts; Khyentse Foundation, established in 2001 to promote the Buddha’s teaching and support all traditions of Buddhist study and practice; 84000, a non-profit global initiative to translate the words of the Buddha and make them available to all; Lotus Outreach, which directs a range of projects to ensure the education, health, and safety of vulnerable women and children in the developing world; and Lhomon Society, which promotes sustainable development in Bhutan through education.

Rinpoche is the author of several books, including: What Makes You Not a Buddhist (2006), Not For Happiness (2012), The Guru Drinks Bourbon? (2016), and Poison is Medicine: Clarifying the Vajrayana (2021), and has garnered renown inside and outside of the global Buddhist community for the feature-length films he has written and directed: The Cup (1999), Travellers and Magicians (2004), Vara: A Blessing (2012), Hema Hema: Sing Me a Song While I wait (2016), and Looking For A Lady With Fangs And A Moustache (2019).

* 84000 Announces that 25 Per Cent of the Tibetan Kangyur Is Now Freely Available in English (BDG)

See more

Siddhartha’s Intent
Khyentse Foundation
84000: Translating the Words of the Buddha

Related news reports from BDG

Lighting the Mahabodhi: Siddhartha’s Intent India Announces International Light Sculpture Design Contest
84000 Announces World’s First Complete English-Language Catalog of the Tengyur
UPDATE: 84000 Launches New App, with Insights from Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Khyentse Foundation Marks 20 Years in the Service of the Buddhadharma
Windows into Buddhism: Khyentse Foundation Announces Launch of New Book and Website

Related features from BDG

Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche on Biodiversity Conservation and the Illegal Wildlife Trade
Poison Is Medicine: Paradox and Perception in Vajrayana Buddhism
On Being Brave: Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Technology and the Dissemination of the Dharma
A Buddhist Vision for Education Reform: The Blue Lion Preschool, Inspired by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Seeing the Sacred: an Interview with Pawo Choyning Dorji, Producer of Hema Hema: Sing Me A Song While I Wait
Modern Education and the Future of Buddhism: An Interview with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments