Search
Close this search box.
x

NEWS

Online Dharma: Pema Chödrön to Give Special Talk in Support of Mangala Shri Bhuti

Ani Pema Chödrön. Image courtesy of Mangala Shri Bhuti

The renowned Buddhist monastic, author, and respected Dharma teacher Ani Pema Chödrön is scheduled to give a special talk on 18 July. The teaching will be given in support of Mangala Shri Bhuti, the sangha of her teacher, the esteemed tulku Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche, as part of the sangha’s Nyingma Summer Seminar at the Phuntsok Choling retreat and event center in Ward, Colorado.

Although tickets for in-person attendance of Ani Pema Chödrön’s public talk have already sold out and are now wait-listed, registration is still open to join the live-stream of the event.

“Mangala Shri Bhuti is honored to host Pema Chödrön on Thursday, 18 July 2024 for her teaching that will take place during the Nyingma Summer Seminar,” Mangala Shri Bhuti said in an announcement shared with BDG. “Ani Pema will speak on a topic from the Buddhist Mahayana teachings. Each year, Ani-la generously donates the funds raised from her talk to support the activities of Mangala Shri Bhuti, the sangha of her teacher Venerable Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche.”

Mangala Shri Bhuti is a non-profit organization led by Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche and affiliated with the Longchen Nyingtik tradition of the Nyingma lineage of Vajrayana Buddhism. Headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, and with centers in Asia, Europe, North America, and South America, Mangala Shri Bhuti provides teaching programs and online courses for the study and practice of the Buddhist path.

Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. From mangalashribhuti.org

“Pema Chödrön will be giving this talk in the context of the Nyingma Summer Seminar, a week-long public program that also serves as an important annual gathering for MSB students,” Mangala Shri Bhuti added. “During this program, Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche, Dungse Jampal Norbu, and Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel teach on the Three Yanas of Buddhism. Ani Pema gives her talk in the morning on July 18. If you wish to stay for Kongtrul Rinpoche’s talk in the afternoon, you will need to register for the talk.”

Ani Pema Chödrön’s talk will be live-streamed at the following times:

Auckland: 4am, Friday, 19 July
Canberra: 2am, Friday, 19 July
Seoul, Tokyo: 1am, Friday, 19 July
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 12am, Friday, 19 July
Bangkok, Jakarta: 11pm, Wednesday, 18 July
New Delhi: 9:30pm, Wednesday, 18 July
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 6pm, Wednesday, 18 July
London: 5pm, Wednesday, 18 July
Montreal, New York: 12pm, Wednesday, 18 July
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 9am, Wednesday, 18 July

Click here for full details and live-stream registration

For people unable to attend Pema Chödrön’s live talk in person or online, a recording of the live-stream will be made available to all registrants for one month after the event, starting from 19 July.

From mangalashribhuti.org

“Pema Chödrön generously donates the proceeds of her Dharma talk at Nyingma Summer Seminar to offer significant support for the activities of Mangala Shri Bhuti,” Mangala Shri Bhuti explained. “One of Pema’s main teachers is Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. She spends much of the year in retreat at Samten Ling, one of MSB’s three main centers.”

Ani Pema Chödrön was born Deirdre Blomfield-Brown in 1936 in New York City. She studied under Lama Chime Rinpoche in London for several years, and with Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche in Califnornia. She became a novice Buddhist nun under Rangjung Rigpe Dorje, the 16th Gyalwa Karmapa, in 1974. While in Hong Kong in 1981, she became a fully ordained bhikshuni—the first American woman to do so in the Vajrayana Buddhist tradition. 

Pema Chödrön has authored numerous books, including: The Wisdom of No Escape And the Path of Loving-Kindness (Shambhala Publications 1991), Start Where You Are: A Guide to Compassionate Living (Shambhala Publications 1994), and Don’t Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom From Anger and Other Destructive Emotions (Shambhala Publications 2007).

See more

Mangala Shri Bhuti
Mangala Shri Bhuti (YouTube)
The Pema Chodron Foundation
Gampo Abbey

Related news reports from BDG

Online Dharma: Pema Chödrön to Give Special Public Talk for Mangala Shri Bhuti

Related features from BDG

Online Dharma: Pema Chödrön to Give Special Public Talk for Mangala Shri Bhuti
Book Review: How We Live Is How We Die by Pema Chödrön
Going to “the Place that Nobody Wants to Go:” Pema Chödrön and Moana

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments