Search
Close this search box.
Previous slide
Next slide

NEWS

Online Dharma: Pema Chödrön to Give Special Public Talk for Mangala Shri Bhuti

Ani Pema Chödrön. From shambhala.com

The renowned author, monastic, and respected Dharma teacher Ani Pema Chödrön is scheduled to give a special public talk on 12 July. The talk is given in support of Mangala Shri Bhuti, the sangha of her teacher, the esteemed tulku Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche, as part of the sangha’s Nyingma Summer Seminar at the Phuntsok Choling retreat and event center in Ward, Colorado.

“Mangala Shri Bhuti is honored to host Pema Chödrön on Wednesday, 12 July, speaking at the annual Nyingma Summer Seminar program,” Mangala Shri Bhuti said in an announcement shared with BDG. “Ani-la teaches each year at this program as a fundraiser for Mangala Shri Bhuti, the sangha of her teacher Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. She will be speaking on a topic from the Buddhist Mahayana teachings.

Although in-person tickets for this event in Colorado have already been taken up, registration is still open for live-stream attendance.

Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche. From mangalashribhuti.org

“Pema Chödrön will be giving this talk in the context of Nyingma Summer Seminar, a week-long public program that also serves as an important annual gathering for MSB students,” Mangala Shri Bhuti explained. “During this [Nyingma Summer Seminar] program, Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche, Dungse Jampal Norbu, and Elizabeth Mattis Namgyel [will] teach on the Three Yanas of Buddhism.”

Mangala Shri Bhuti is a non-profit organization led by Dzigar Kongtrul Rinpoche affiliated with the Longchen Nyingtik tradition of the Nyingma lineage of Vajrayana Buddhism. Headquartered in Boulder, Colorado, and with centers in Asia, Europe, North America, and South America, Mangala Shri Bhuti provides teaching programs and online courses for the study and practice of the Buddhist path.

For people unable to attend Pema Chödrön’s live talk, a recording of the live-stream will be made available to all registrants for one month after the event, starting from 13 July.

From mangalashribhuti.org

Ani Pema Chödrön’s talk will be live-streamed at the following times:

Auckland: 4am, Thursday, 13 July
Canberra: 2am, Thursday, 13 July
Seoul, Tokyo: 1am, Thursday, 13 July
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 12am, Thursday, 13 July
Bangkok, Jakarta: 11pm, Wednesday, 12 July
India Standard Time: 9:30pm, Wednesday, 12 July
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 6pm, Wednesday, 12 July
London: 5pm, Wednesday, 12 July
Montreal, New York: 12pm, Wednesday, 12 July
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 9am, Wednesday, 12 July

Click here for full details and live-stream registration

Ani Pema Chödrön was born Deirdre Blomfield-Brown in 1936 in New York City. She studied under Lama Chime Rinpoche in London for several years, and with Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche in Califnornia. She became a novice Buddhist nun under Rangjung Rigpe Dorje, the 16th Gyalwa Karmapa, in 1974. While in Hong Kong in 1981, she became a fully ordained bhikshuni—the first American woman to do so in the Vajrayana Buddhist tradition. 

Pema Chödrön has authored numerous books, including: The Wisdom of No Escape And the Path of Loving-Kindness (Shambhala Publications 1991), Start Where You Are: A Guide to Compassionate Living (Shambhala Publications 1994), and Don’t Bite the Hook: Finding Freedom From Anger and Other Destructive Emotions (Shambhala Publications 2007).

See more

Mangala Shri Bhuti
Mangala Shri Bhuti (YouTube)
The Pema Chodron Foundation
Gampo Abbey

Related features from BDG

Book Review: How We Live Is How We Die by Pema Chödrön
Going to “the Place that Nobody Wants to Go:” Pema Chödrön and Moana

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments