x

NEWS

Online Dharma: Bodhisattva Vow Ceremony with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

Image courtesy of Siddartha’s Intent

Siddartha’s Intent, founded by the renowned Bhutanese lama, filmmaker, and author Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche, has announced that Rinpoche will lead a live-streamed Bodhisattva Vow ceremony on 15 November to celebrate the Tibetan Buddhist festival of Lhabab Duchen.

The event is co-organized by Siddhartha’s Intent and the Dzongsar Khyentse Chokyi Lodro Institute, a monastic college in Chauntra, Himachal Pradesh, in northern India, as part of the Drubthab Kuntu cycle of teachings offered by Rinpoche that began on 1 October.

Lhabab Duchen is one of the four most important Buddhist festivals in the Tibetan lunar calendar, falling on the 22nd day of the ninth month. The festival celebrates the Buddha’s descent back to Earth from the Trayastrimsa heaven, the realm of 33 devas, after giving teachings there for three months, and to repay the kindness of his mother by liberating her from Samsara. According to tradition, the karmic effects of all actions and practices on this auspicious day are greatly multiplied.

Formed in 1986, Siddhartha’s Intent is an international collective of Buddhist groups supporting Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche’s Buddhadharma activities by organizing teachings and retreats, distributing and archiving recorded teachings, transcribing, editing, and translating manuscripts and practice texts, with a global community committed to continual study and practice.

Rinpoche will bestow the Bodhisattva Vow in Tibetan and English, with onsite Hindi interpretation. Consecutive translation into Cantonese, French, Japanese, Mandarin, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish will also be available online.

The Bodhisattva Vow ceremony will be live-streamed on 15 November at the following times:

Auckland: 3:30pm, Tuesday, 15 November
Canberra: 1:30pm, Tuesday, 15 November
Seoul, Tokyo: 11:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Bangkok, Jakarta: 9:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Thimphu: 8:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Kathmandu: 8:15am, Tuesday, 15 November
India Standard Time: 8am, Tuesday, 15 November
Moscow: 5:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 3:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
London: 2:30am, Tuesday, 15 November
Montreal, New York: 21:30pm, Monday, 14 November
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 18:30pm, Tuesday, 15 November

Click here for full details of this event

Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche. Image courtesy of Licchavi House

Born in Bhutan in 1961, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche is the son of Thinley Norbu Rinpoche and was a close student of the Nyingma master Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (1910–91). He is recognized as the third incarnation of the 19th century Tibetan terton Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo (1820–1892), founder of the Khyentse lineage, and the immediate incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö (1893–1959). 

In addition to Siddhartha’s Intent, Rinpoche’s projects include: Khyentse Foundation, established in 2001 to promote the Buddha’s teaching and support all traditions of Buddhist study and practice; 84000, a non-profit global initiative to translate the words of the Buddha and make them available to all; Lotus Outreach, which directs a range of projects to ensure the education, health, and safety of vulnerable women and children in the developing world; and Lhomon Society, which promotes sustainable development in Bhutan through education.

Rinpoche is the author of several books, including: What Makes You Not a Buddhist (2006), Not For Happiness (2012), The Guru Drinks Bourbon? (2016), and Poison is Medicine: Clarifying the Vajrayana (2021), and has garnered renown inside and outside of the global Buddhist community for the feature-length films he has written and directed: The Cup (1999), Travellers and Magicians (2004), Vara: A Blessing (2012), Hema Hema: Sing Me a Song While I wait (2016), and Looking For A Lady With Fangs And A Moustache (2019).

See more

Siddhartha’s Intent
Bodhisattva Vow Ceremony with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche (Siddhartha’s Intent)

Related news reports from BDG

Khyentse Foundation Accepting Nominations for 2023 KF Award for Dissertation in Buddhist Studies
Online Dharma: The Heart Sutra with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche and Jet Li
Lighting the Mahabodhi: Siddhartha’s Intent India Announces International Light Sculpture Design Contest
Khyentse Foundation Presents 2022 KF Award for Outstanding PhD Dissertation in Buddhist Studies
Live-stream: Ground-breaking Ceremony for Licchavi House, a New Initiative by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche, on 27 August
Khyentse Foundation Marks 20 Years in the Service of the Buddhadharma
Windows into Buddhism: Khyentse Foundation Announces Launch of New Book and Website

Related features from BDG

Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche on Biodiversity Conservation and the Illegal Wildlife Trade
Poison Is Medicine: Paradox and Perception in Vajrayana Buddhism
On Being Brave: Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Technology and the Dissemination of the Dharma
A Buddhist Vision for Education Reform: The Blue Lion Preschool, Inspired by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Seeing the Sacred: an Interview with Pawo Choyning Dorji, Producer of Hema Hema: Sing Me A Song While I Wait
Modern Education and the Future of Buddhism: An Interview with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments