NEWS

Korean Buddhist Monk Ven. Pomnyun Sunim Plans a Series of Live-Streamed Global Dharma Talks

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. Image courtesy of Jungto Society
Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. Image courtesy of Jungto Society

The renowned Korean Buddhist monk and Seon (Zen) master Ven. Pomnyun Sunim* (법륜스님) will conduct a series of global live-streamed Dharma talks beginning on 16 May under the theme “Casual Conversation with Ven. Pomnyun Sunim.”

“These worldwide Dharma events are open to everyone,” said the organizer Jungto Society. “Participants are invited to ask any questions they may have about their personal lives, relationships, work, and so on.”

A widely respected Dharma teacher, a bestselling author, and an untiring social activist in his native South Korea, Ven. Pomnyun Sunim has founded numerous Dharma-based organizations, initiatives, and projects that are active across the world. Among them, Jungto Society, a volunteer-based community founded on the Buddhist teachings and expressing equality, simple living, and sustainability, is dedicated to addressing modern social issues that lead to suffering, including environmental degradation, poverty, and conflict. 

“Ven. Pomnyun Sunim is one of the most recognized and influential Buddhist leaders in South Korea with an active following,” a representative of Jungto Society told Buddhistdoor Global. “He is well known for his unique way of engaging audiences in Dharma Q+A that is rooted in the Buddhist teachings. These talks will have a conversational format with no rules: people may ask or discuss any topic they face in their lives—issues range from the personal to societal, religious to scientific, civilization to history.”

Ven. Pomnyun Sunim has earned considerable acclaim in South Korea and internationally for his unique and accessible style of Dharma instruction, which follows an informal Q+A format. The talks are structured with the aim of helping people realize their own inner contradictions or ignorance, and providing them with the tools and understanding to alleviate their own suffering, in the tradition of the historical Buddha.

“Anyone who seeks a deeper understanding about life can ask Ven. Pomnyun Sunim for his insightful perspective, which can help them understand the truth about what matters to him or her and what doesn’t matter at all,” Jungto Society explained. “Ven. Pomnyun Sunim listens to people and guides them based on the Buddha’s teaching, helping them to understand and see their situation from a different perspective.”

These free global live events, which will be conducted in English and live-streamed via Zoom, will be held on 16 May; 13 June; 20 June; 11 July; 8 August; and 15 August. Each date will be held at the following times (click here to register):

Auckland: 11am–12:15pm, Sunday
Canberra: 9am–10:15am, Sunday
Seoul, Tokyo: 8am–9:15am, Sunday
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 7am–8:15am, Sunday
Bangkok, Jakarta: 6am–7:15am, Sunday
New Delhi: 4:30am–5:45am, Sunday
Moscow: 2am–3:15am, Sunday
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 1am–2:15am, Sunday
London: 12am–1:15am, Sunday
Montreal, New York: 7pm–8:15pm, Saturday
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 4pm–5:15pm, Saturday

Ven. Pomnyun Sunim is also the founder and chair of the international relief agency Join Together Society, which works to eradicate poverty and hunger through humanitarian aid and sustainable development; Good Friends, an NGO for peace, human rights, and refugees; the Peace Foundation; and EcoBuddha, an environmental movement focused on sustainable development. He also works closely with the International Network of Engaged Buddhists (INEB).

“The path of truth leads us to freedom and happiness. The path must be beneficial to us and others in the present and in the future,” said Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. “A path which benefits only us and not others or only others and not us is not sustainable. If we do something that only benefits us and is detrimental to others, we will have to deal with the consequences later in life. If we sacrifice ourselves to benefit others, we won’t be able to keep doing it for a long time. Consequently, in order to have sustainable happiness, we must choose a path that is beneficial to everyone.”

Click here to register and to submit a question for Ven. Pomnyun Sunim.

* Sunim is a Korean title of respect for Buddhist monks.

See more

Pomnyun
Jungto Society
JTS Korea
JTS America
International Network of Engaged Buddhists

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments