x

NEWS

Engaged Buddhism: INEB to Host Public Symposium: “Roles of Spirituality & Faith in a Divided World”

In conjunction with the upcoming 20th Biennial INEB Conference in South Korea in October, the International Network of Engaged Buddhists (INEB) has announced a public symposium on the theme “Roles of Spirituality & Faith in a Divided World.” Jointly organized with Jungto Society, the event will be hosted at Jungto Center in Seoul on 29 October, with both in-person and live-stream attendance.

The symposium will feature addresses by luminaries of socially engaged Buddhism, including the revered Korean Seon (Zen) master, engaged Buddhist, and Dharma teacher, Venerable Pomnyun Sunim, the founder of Jungto Society and Honorary Adviser to INEB; a keynote speech from Ambassador Harsha Navaratne, High Commissioner for Sri Lanka in Canada and chairperson of INEB’s Executive Committee; and the prominent socially engaged Buddhist activist and social critic Sulak Sivaraksa, cofounder of INEB and chairperson of INEB’s Advisory Committee.

The public symposium “Roles of Spirituality & Faith in a Divided World” will be live-streamed on 29 October at the following times:

Auckland: 5pm, Saturday, 29 October
Canberra: 3pm, Saturday, 29 October
Seoul, Tokyo: 1pm, Saturday, 29 October
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 12pm, Saturday, 29 October
Bangkok, Jakarta: 11am, Saturday, 29 October
Kathmandu: 9:45am, Saturday, 29 October
New Delhi
: 9:30am, Saturday, 29 October
Moscow: 7am, Saturday, 29 October
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 6am, Saturday, 29 October
London: 5am, Saturday, 29 October
Montreal, New York: 12am, Saturday, 29 October
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 9pm, Friday, 28 October

Click here for full details and to register for online or in-person attendance

INEB’s 20th Biennial INEB Conference, running from 24–30 October in South Korea, is the first official in-person gathering since INEB’s previous international conference in 2019. Focused on the theme “Buddhism in a Divided World,” the conference is aimed at developing INEB’s 10-Year Strategic Roadmap launched in 2017, and expanding outreach to like-minded social movements. This will help INEB to more fully support initiatives in social justice, cultural and gender equality, inclusivity and diversity, transformative learning, and harmonizing initiatives associated with ecology and economics, intra- and inter-faith dialogue, and empowering young people.

The International Network of Engaged Buddhists (INEB) was formed in 1989 by the prominent Thai academic, activist, and social critic Sulak Sivaraksa and a group of Buddhist and non-Buddhist thought leaders. Connecting socially engaged Buddhists around the world, INEB works promote understanding, cooperation, and networking among inter-Buddhist and inter-religious groups, and to actively address urgent global issues such as human rights, conflict resolution, and environmental crises. Headquartered in Bangkok, INEB has established a wide range of social projects and outreach programs aimed at overcoming suffering and empowering vulnerable communities through the practice of the Dharma and engaged Buddhism.

See more

2022 Public Symposium | Seoul, Korea (INEB)
The 20th Biennial INEB Conference in South Korea (INEB)
International Network of Engaged Buddhists (INEB)
Jungto Society
Jungto Society International

Related news reports from BDG

Engaged Buddhism: INEB’s SENS 2023 Transformative Learning Program to Commence in January
Engaged Buddhism: INEB Launches Sangha for Peace to Tackle Regional Religious and Ethno-Nationalist Tensions
INEB, Clear View Project Launch Humanitarian Appeal for Buddhist Monastics in Myanmar
Engaged Buddhism: INEB Shares Final Report on Mindful Action: COVID-19 Emergency Relief Fund
Engaged Buddhism: Ven. Pomnyun Sunim and JTS Volunteers Visit Sujata Academy Project in India
Engaged Buddhism: Ven. Pomnyun Sunim and JTS Volunteers Bring 100,000 Gas Stoves to Rohingya Refugees in Bangladesh
Engaged Buddhism: Ven. Pomnyun Sunim Shares the Fruits of Compassion to Mark the Birth of the Buddha

Related features from BDG

Ven. Pomnyun Sunim: Buddhism in a Divided World
Compassion and Kalyana-mittata: The Engaged Buddhism of Sulak Sivaraksa

BDG Special Issue 2022: Buddhism in a Divided World

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments