NEWS

Deer Park Institute to Host Interfaith Webinar: “Spiritual Practices During a Crisis”

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
From deerpark.in

The Deer park Institute, founded by the revered Bhutanese lama, teacher, filmmaker, and author Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche, is to host an interfaith webinar under the theme “Spiritual Practices During a Crisis.” Scheduled for 6 June, the public online event will feature guests and participants from the Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, and Sikh traditions, who will share their wisdom, experiences, and perspectives on spirituality, wisdom, and well-being. 

“The Deer Park Institute will present a much-needed webinar for these times, with leading chaplains and caregivers from the rich traditions of Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity, and Sikhism,” the institute said. “The event will be led by Dr. Elaine Yuen, associate professor at Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado; Dr. Asha C. Shipman, Hindu chaplain at Yale University; Gustav Ericsson, Christian prison and hospital chaplain from Sweden; Dr. Nivedita Chalill, founder of ARTH, a mental health initiative in Mumbai that offers counseling and arts-based therapy for individuals and families; and Avneet Kaur, co-founder of the RAHAO School of Life in Delhi.”

The Deer Park Institute, a project under Siddhartha’s Intent Society, was established in 2006 in Bir, in the northern Indian state of Himachal Pradesh, as a registered educational society by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche. The institute was founded with a vision of preserving and propagating the profound classical wisdom traditions of India in the non-sectarian spirit of the university of Nalanda. The name is intended to evoke Shakyamuni Buddha’s first teachings at the historic Deer Park in Sarnath, where the he first shared the spirit of bias-free enquiry into the nature of mind, existence, and suffering. The Deer Park Institute’s programs encompass the disciplines of listening, contemplating, and meditating, leading to genuine understanding and realization.

From deerpark.in

“Spiritual Practices During a Crisis,” which will be conducted in English and live-streamed via Zoom, will be held on 6 June at the following times:

Auckland: 01:30–03:30, Monday
Canberra: 23:30–01:30, Sunday/Monday
Seoul, Tokyo: 22:30–00:30, Sunday/Monday
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 21:30–23:30, Sunday
Bangkok, Jakarta: 20:30–22:30, Sunday
New Delhi (IST): 19:00–21:00, Sunday
Moscow: 16:30–18:30, Sunday
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 15:30–17:30, Sunday
London: 14:30–16:30, Sunday
Montreal, New York: 09:30–11:30, Sunday
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 06:30–08:30, Sunday

The event is open to all and is free of charge. 

Zoom meeting code: 853 6014 2090
Meeting passcode: 459658

For more information, email: [email protected]

Born in Bhutan and now based in Himachal Pradesh, India, Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche gives teachings all over the world. He is the son of Thinley Norbu Rinpoche and was a close student of the Nyingma master Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche (1910–91). He is recognized as the third incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo (1820–92), founder of the Khyentse lineage, and the immediate incarnation of Jamyang Khyentse Chökyi Lodrö (1893–1959). In addition to the Khyentse Foundation, his projects include 84000, a non-profit global initiative to translate the words of the Buddha and make them available to all; Siddhartha’s Intent, which organizes, distributes, and archives his teachings; Lotus Outreach, which directs a wide range of projects to help refugees; and more recently The Lhomon Society, which promotes sustainable development in Bhutan through education.

Our job is to develop confidence in the fact that our own true nature has exactly the same potential as that of the Buddha, and that all we need to do to mature that potential is follow Siddhartha’s example and apply the right methods. — Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

From deerpark.in

See more

Deer Park Institute
Siddhartha’s Intent India
Siddhartha’s Intent
ARTH
Elaine Yuen

Related news reports from Buddhistdoor Global

Deer Park Institute Announces Webinar: Finding Balance in Challenging Times
Khyentse Foundation Announces 2020 Fellowship Award for Buddhist Monk Ven. Wei Wu
Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche Welcomes 2021 with Global Gathering, Announces Bhumisparsha Project to Continue
Update: Lighting the Mahabodhi Project Draws Closer to Completion
84000 Offers “Sūtras for Well-Being” for a World Grappling with Pandemic
Khyentse Foundation’s Kumarajiva Project Marks 2nd Year with 7 Buddhist Texts Translated into Chinese

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

On Being Brave: Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche on Technology and the Dissemination of the Dharma
A Buddhist Vision for Education Reform: The Blue Lion Preschool, Inspired by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche
Seeing the Sacred: an Interview with Pawo Choyning Dorji, Producer of Hema Hema: Sing Me A Song While I Wait
Modern Education and the Future of Buddhism: An Interview with Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments