NEWS

Zen Monk Ven. Pomnyun Sunim to Hold Global Dharma Talk: “In the Age of COVID-19”

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. Image courtesy of Jungto Society
Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. Image courtesy of Jungto Society

The renowned Korean Buddhist monk and Seon (Zen) master Ven. Pomnyun Sunim* will conduct a global live-streamed Dharma talk on 20 December under the theme “Casual Conversation with Ven. Pomnyun Sunim: In the Age of COVID-19.”

A widely respected Dharma teacher, a bestselling author, and an untiring social activist in his native South Korea, Ven. Pomnyun Sunim has founded numerous Dharma-based organizations, initiatives, and projects that are active across the world. Among them, Jungto Society, a volunteer-based community founded on the Buddhist teachings and expressing equality, simple living, and sustainability, is dedicated to addressing modern social issues that lead to suffering, including environmental degradation, poverty, and conflict. 

“Ven. Pomnyun Sunim is one of the most recognized and influential Buddhist leaders in South Korea with an active following,” a representative of Jungto Society told Buddhistdoor Global. “He is well known for his unique way of engaging audiences in Dharma Q+A that is rooted in the Buddhist teaching. This talk will have a conversational format and has no rules: people from any walk of life may ask, speak, and discuss any topic they face in their lives—issues range from the personal to societal, religious to scientific, civilization to history.

Image courtesy of Jungto Society
Image courtesy of Jungto Society

Sunday, 20 December, 12 pm–1:30 am (Aukland)
Sunday, 20 December, 10 am–11:30 am (Sydney)
Sunday, 20 December, 8 am–9:30 am (Seoul, Tokyo)
Sunday, 20 December, 7 am–8:30 am (Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore)
Sunday, 20 December, 6 am–7:30 am (Bangkok, Jakarta)
Sunday, 20 December, 4:30 am–6 am (New Delhi)
Sunday, 20 December, 2 am–3:30 am (Moscow)
Sunday, 20 December, Midnight–1:30 am (Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm)
Saturday, 19 December, 11 pm–00:30 am (London)
Saturday, 19 December, 6 pm–7:30 pm (Montreal, New York)
Saturday, 19 December, 3 pm–4:30 pm (Los Angeles, Vancouver)

Ven. Pomnyun Sunim has earned considerable acclaim for his unique and accessible style of Dharma instruction. The talks are structured with the aim of helping people realize their own inner contradictions or ignorance, and providing them with the tools and understanding to alleviate their own suffering, in the tradition of the historical Buddha.

“The path of truth leads us to freedom and happiness. The path must be beneficial to us and others in the present and in the future,” said Ven. Pomnyun Sunim. “A path which benefits only us and not others or only others and not us is not sustainable. If we do something that only benefits us and is detrimental to others, we will have to deal with the consequences later in life. If we sacrifice ourselves to benefit others, we won’t be able to keep doing it for a long time. Consequently, in order to have sustainable happiness, we must choose a path that is beneficial to everyone.”

Click here to register for this free event

* Sunim is a Korean title of respect for senior Buddhist monks.

See more

Pomnyun
Venerable Pomnyun (Facebook)
Jungto Society
Jungto Society US
Join Together Society America

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments