Close this search box.


Taiwanese Buddhist Master Ven. Shih Chao-hwei Selected for 38th Niwano Peace Prize

Ven. Shih Chao-hwei
Ven. Shih Chao-hwei

The Niwano Peace Foundation announced on Friday that Venerable Shih Chao-hwei, who has earned global renown as a socially engaged Buddhist monastic, activist, scholar, and author, will be the recipient of the 38th Niwano Peace Prize.

“The 38th Niwano Peace Prize will be awarded to the Ven. Shih Chao-hwei of Taiwan in recognition of her work in peace-building through her safeguarding of all forms of life, her promotion of gender ethics, gender equality, and her approach to open-minded dialogue with different religious leaders and social groups,” the Niwano Foundation said in an announcement shared with Buddhistdoor Global. “It is the view of the Niwano Peace Prize Committee that, grounded in her Buddhist faith, she provides fearless leadership in the promotion of a sustainable and viable peace, and as such we are honored to recognize her work.”

The award will be conferred at a formal presentation ceremony on 2 June in Tokyo. The Niwano Peace Prize takes the form of a certificate, a medal, and a cash award of ¥20 million (US$188,000).

A leading voice for liberation, empowerment, and compassionate engagement in Asia and beyond, Ven. Chao-hwei An is a noted scholar and author of more than two dozen books and over 70 research papers. As founder of the Life Conservationist Association, Ven. Chao-hwe is an outspoken advocate for animal rights legislation and has authored numerous papers on nature and wildlife conservation. She has also been a vocal supporter of same-sex marriage and has been a key figure in the movement to support female ordination in all Buddhist traditions.

Ven. Chao-hwei was born in 1965 in the city of Rangoon (now Yangon) in Burma (Myanmar) to a Chinese family who had fled from China’s Guangdong Province during the rise of communism. At the age of eight, she moved with her family to Taiwan, where she flourished as a student. After attending Taiwan International Normal University, Ven. Chao-hwei was ordained as Buddhist monastic.

In 1994, Ven. Chao-hwei began teaching at Fu Jen Catholic University, and in 1997 started teaching religious studies at Hsuan Chuang University. Ven. Chao-hwei founded the Research Centre for Applied Ethics in 2004, which she continues to direct.

Ven. Chao-hwei also serves as the dean of graduate studies at Buddhist Hong Shih College and monastery, and is the chair of the department of religious studies at Hsuan Chuang University, where she teaches Buddhist philosophy and ethics, with a strong emphasis on animal rights. In 2007, Ven. Chao-hwei Shih was awarded the 48th Chinese Literature and Arts Medal for her outstanding contributions to intercultural dialogue, and in 2009 was the recipient of the Outstanding Women in Buddhism Award. She is also a spiritual advisor to the International Network of Engaged Buddhists (INEB).

“Ven. Shih Chao-hwei is an internationally renowned engaged Buddhist who is also involved in academics and has established educational institutes,” said Dr. Ranjana Mukhopadhyaya, a member of the Niwano Peace Prize Committee. “She is a gender rights activists and animal rights advocate. Guided by the Buddhist teachings of saving all sentient beings, her activities have emphasized on safeguarding all forms of life. She is also vocal about various social and political issues of her country. I consider her an appropriate person for the Niwano Peace Prize.”

Established by Nikkyo Niwano (1906–99), co-founder and the first president of the Rissho Kosei Kai Buddhist organization in Japan, the Niwano Peace Foundation was chartered in 1978 with the aspiration of working toward the realization of world peace. The foundation promotes research and other activities in fields such as education, science, culture, and philosophy. The foundation established the Niwano Peace Prize, which has been awarded annually since 1983 “to honor and encourage those who are devoting themselves to inter-religious cooperation in the cause of peace, and to make their achievements known.” (Niwano Peace Foundation) 

Each year, the Niwano Peace Foundation asks broad range of scholars, religious leaders, and organizations representing 125 countries and various world religions to nominate suitable candidates. Nominations are rigorously screened by the Niwano Peace Prize Committee, comprised of seven religious leaders from various parts of the world, all of whom are involved in movements for peace and inter-religious cooperation.

Past recipients include the Korean Seon (Zen) master Ven. Pomnyun Sunim, who received the 37th Niwano Peace Prize in 2020; Thai social activist and founder of the International Network of Engaged Buddhists Sulak Sivaraksa, who won the award in 2011; Taiwanese Buddhist nun Master Cheng Yen, founder of the Buddhist Compassion Relief Tzu Chi Foundation, who was awarded the prize in 2007; and Cambodian monk and peace activist Ven. Maha Ghosananda, who won the award in 1998.

See more

Niwano Peace Foundation
Buddhist Hongshi College
International Network of Engaged Buddhists

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments