NEWS

Compassion, Generosity, Truth, and Wisdom: Bhikkhu Bodhi to Give Live-Streamed Dharma Talk

Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi. From youtube.com

The renowned American monk, author, and scholar Venerable Bhikkhu Bodhi will offer a live-streamed Dharma talk for the South Indian Buddhist Council on 16 January, on the theme “Compassion, Generosity, Truth, and Wisdom.”

“This event has been organized by the South Indian Buddhist Council (SIBC) as its first Dhamma talk to be translated into the Tamil language for Indian Buddhists,” SIBC president and founder of the Foundation of His Sacred Majesty Gauthama Phrabhu told BDG. “The SIBC is an initiative among independent Buddhist activists and organizations representing different schools of Buddhism in India, in order to spread the Dhamma and maintain fellowship among each other and among Buddhists in India.”

Image courtesy of SIBC

“The SIBC consists of monks and lay Buddhist clergy in the supreme council, while the executive committee includes all other Buddhist activists and leaders,” Phrabhu added.

This free live-streamed Dharma talk can be attended via Zoom at the following times:

Auckland: 3am, Monday 17 January
Canberra: 1am, Monday 17 January
Seoul, Tokyo: 11pm, Sunday 16 January
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 10pm, Sunday 16 January
Bangkok, Jakarta: 9pm, Sunday 16 January
India Standard Time: 7:30pm, Sunday 16 January
Moscow: 5pm, Sunday 16 January
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 3pm, Sunday 16 January
London: 2pm, Sunday 16 January
Montreal, New York: 9am, Sunday 16 January
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 6am, Sunday 16 January

Zoom ID: 81606039920, passcode: tbs1956 •

Ven. Bhikkhu Bodhi (b. 1944) is an American Theravada Buddhist monk based in the New York and New Jersey area. Drawn to Buddhism in his early 20s, he traveled to Sri Lanka after completing his university education, and received novice ordination in 1972 and full ordination in 1973 under the late Sri Lankan scholar-monk Ven. Balangoda Ananda Maitreya (1896–1998). 

From 1984, Ven. Bhikkhu Bodhi served as the editor for the Buddhist Publication Society in Kandy, where he lived for 10 years with the senior German monk Ven. Nyanaponika Thera (1901–94), and was appointed president of the Buddhist Publication Society in 1988. He returned to the US in 2002. 

In 2008, together with several of his students, Ven. Bhikkhu Bodhi founded the nonprofit Buddhist Global Relief supporting hunger relief, sustainable agriculture, and education in response “to the cries of those afflicted with chronic hunger” and “inspired by the vision of a world in which debilitating poverty has finally been banished.” (Buddhist Global Relief) Ven. Bhikkhu Bodhi was elected president of the non-denominational Buddhist Association of the United States in 2013.

Ven. Bhikkhu Bodhi has published several important Buddhist texts as either author, translator, or editor, including: The Middle Length Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Majjhima Nikaya (1995; co-translated with Ven. Bhikkhu Nanamoli), The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Samyutta Nikaya (2000), and In the Buddha’s Words: An Anthology of Discourses from the Pali Canon (2005).

See more

Buddhist Global Relief
Foundation of His Sacred Majesty

Related news reports from BDG

Plans Underway to Complete Buddhist Pilgrimage Site in Nagarjuna Sagar, Central India
Dalai Lama Offers Prayers, Donation for Victims of Deadly Floods in Southeastern India
Indian Delegation Visits Russia to Establish Collaboration with Buddhist Organizations
Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation Donates Oxygen Equipment to India amid COVID-19 Crisis
American-born Indian Scholar of Ambedkarite Buddhism and Gender Equality Gail Omvedt Dies Aged 80
India Presents Buddha Statue to Bhutan on the Birth Anniversary of Padmasambhava
Buddhist Non-profit FHSM Launches Humanitarian Appeal for India’s COVID-19 Crisis

Related features from Buddhistdoor Global

Related news from Buddhistdoor Global

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
1 Comment
Oldest
Newest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
bob knab
5 months ago

Thankyou thankyou
happy blessings ——- bob