FEATURES

Showing results for "film review"

Film Review: <i>Walk with Me</i> – A Welcome Break from Stressful City Life
A joyful, meditative cinematic journey into the monastic life of Plum Village.
Uploaded 15 Sep 2017
Nine-Story Mountain Film Crew Interview: Journalism, Pilgrimage, and Preservation
Pilgrimage is not technically done for personal enjoyment. The fun comes as a corollary to rigor (few to no holy sites are located in comfortable or lush locations), the difficulties of travel, and so
Uploaded 7 May 2014
Nine-Story Mountain: The Making of a Pilgrimage
As an anthropologist and artist, the individualistic and community-focused elements of pilgrimage journeys, which seem to meander easily between the personal and the communal, fascinate me. I am drawn
Uploaded 7 Mar 2014
Walking for Change on a Padyatra
Some of us are close friends with the natural world.  We spend our weekends in the mountains; we own Gore-Tex and lots of wicking socks.  Sometimes, we’re more like nature’s acquaintances: we drive hy
Uploaded 25 Mar 2013
Want to be happy? Watch "Happy"!
“If you were the new leader of Hong Kong, what economic policies would you set up?” Generally, my students stare at me with blank faces when I ask them questions in clas
Uploaded 3 Oct 2012
Memories of a Mad Sage: A Review of <i>Crazy Wisdom</i>
Our review of the film Crazy Wisdom!
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
Amongst White Clouds
Amongst White Clouds presents a rare opportunity to catch a glimpse into the reclusive lives of China’s Zen Buddhist hermits.  The American director Edward A. Burger guides his audience through the fo
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
Mindfulness & Murder
Mindfulness and Murder, a Thai film by director Tom Waller, is one of a kind and will no doubt be a surprise to Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike. The film opens with the mindful words of the Buddha:
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
My Reincarnation
This fascinating documentary is both the portrait of an unusual father/son relationship and the exploration of a remarkable spiritual journey.  The father is a Buddhist master or Rinpoche who relocate
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
Shugendo Now
Shugendo Now: Is this title a demand, a request, or a compassionate plea for a reevaluation of societal values?   It is a boldly declarative title and one that, from the opening credits, sets an
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
The Buddha
In the preface to the film The Buddha, D. Max Moerman from Barnard University says, “Like any good story it has a lot to teach… the story of his [the Buddha’s] life is a beautiful way of tel
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
<i>Tulku</i>
Review of Gesar Mukpo's Tulku
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
Un Buda - An Argentinian Vision of Buddhism
The Argentinian film “Un Buda” (2005) tells the story of two brothers in Buenos Aires, a sprawling modern metropolis in Latin America. It portrays the spiritual struggles, encounte
Uploaded 1 Mar 2012
Back to Top